Aarhus University Seal

Christina Kkona


Current position: Marie Curie Fellow at Montaigne University, Bordeaux, France.

During her AIAS-COFUND Junior fellowship Associate Professor Christina Kkona worked on the project 'The unexpected: toward a politics and aesthetics of discontinuity'

Project at AIAS

This project is based on the premise that liberal political programs are politics of hope: people strive in the present for a better world that they probably will not see, but that will be inherited by future generations. This postponement of any fulfillment enhances alienation and entraps the subjects into serving an invisible cause that may never inscribe itself in time. As an alternative, I aim to theorize a politics that would no longer be a future-oriented promise, but a present-oriented action embracing unpredictable events. Subscribing to the tradition of feminist, queer and antiracist studies, it approaches social exclusion from the perspective of temporal consciousness and posits the unexpected as the locus from which the present is organized as space-time of openness to the other. The unexpected refers to what lies behind the future as a fantasy construction and, as such, it is situated outside the usual representation of time as flow. Thus, it escapes the linearity of narrative only to appear in the fissures of artworks, as the analysis of specific literary and cinematic works aims to demonstrate.

Project title:

The unexpected: toward a politics and aesthetics of discontinuity

Area of research:

Cultural Studies

Fellowship period:

1 Oct 2017 – 30 Sep 2020

Fellowship type

AIAS-COFUND Marie Skłodowska-Curie fellow

This fellowship has received funding from the European Union’s Seventh Framework Programme for research, technological development and demonstration under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 609033 and The Aarhus University Research Foundation.