Aarhus University Seal

Welcome to 14 new fellows

Today is commencement day at AIAS. 14 new research fellows will begin their AIAS fellowship and collaboration with Aarhus University faculty members. The researchers are at AIAS on fellowships that will last from half a year up to three years.

The group of 14 new AIAS fellows is a part of a group of 20 researchers selected in open, international triple peer-review in the Spring/Summer of 2020. Seven fellows had their first official day today on 5 October; six commenced during the summer, August to September, and one will start on 1 December. The rest of the 20 fellows will commence in the Spring of 2021.

The official welcome is different this year, due to corona restrictions as many of the social events have been moved to a virtual meeting ground, as e.g. the Welcome Speech by the AIAS Director Søren Keiding.

Via the links below, you can read more about their research area and project of the new fellows:

August 2020:

September 2020:

  • Iza Romanowska, Postdoc, Barcelona Supercomputing Center BSC, Spain
  • Thomas Leppard, Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology, Florida State University, USA

October 2020:

  • Helen Van Norrden, Associate Professor, Classical studies, Cambridge University, UK
  • Jihan Zakarriya, Assistant Professor, Department of Near Eastern Studies, University of Michigan, USA
  • Mark Johnson, Associate Professor, Scottish Oceans Institute, University of St Andrews, Scotland
  • Phillip Reick, Postdoc, Fellow at Centre Zentrum Marc Bloch, Germany
  • Stefan Bargheer, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, University of California (UCLA), USA
  • Karen Gram-Skjoldager, Associate Professor, History, School of Culture and Society, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Morten Storm Overgaard, Professor, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University, Denmark

December 2020:

  • Lau Møller Andersen, Postdoc, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden and Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University, Denmark 


Søren Rud Keiding, AIAS Director, Professor keiding@au.dk
Lena Bering, Communications Officer, lber@aias.au.dk

Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, AIAS
Høegh-Guldbergs Gade 6B
DK-8000 Aarhus C