Aarhus University Seal

Welcome to nine new AIAS fellows

On 1 October 2016, the first 9 fellows of a cohort of 13 selected researchers will commence their fellowship at AIAS.

Photo: AIAS Fellows on Commencement Day 1 February 2016. By: Lars Kruse.

During the summer AIAS has bid farewell to nine fellows who are now returning to their home universities - in the US, New Zealand, Finland etc. On 1 October 2016, nine new fellows of 8 different nationalities will commence, on 1 February 2017 the rest of the group will follow. The fellows selected are a mix of young and more experienced scholars, international and local AU faculty members.

Their research projects at AIAS span from investigations into time and temporal experience of imprisonment; over interdisciplinary production of biofuels via hydrothermal treatment; to screening and finding early treatment for type 2 diabetes, and many more.

Disciplinary research, diverse environment and AU networking

Fellowships at AIAS give the new AIAS fellows time to both concentrate on and develop their individual research projects, but the infrastructure of AIAS also support networking with local AU collaborators and the AIAS fellows between.

The new fellows and their projects at AIAS


  • Professor Michael G. Flaherty, Department of Sociology, Eckerd College, USA
  • Associate Professor Rebecca Simmons, School of Clinical Medicine, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Associate Professor Yonghui Zeng, Dept. of Phototrophic Microorganisms, Institute of Microbiology, Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic 
  • Associate Professor Filip Meysman, Department of Ecosystem Studies, Royal Netherlands Institute of Sea Research, Netherlands
  • Associate Professor Isabelle Torrance, Department of Classics, University of Notre Dame, USA
  • Assistant Professor Michael Voldsgaard Clausen, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, UK
  • Assistant Professor Luís Viegas, Department of Chemistry, University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Postdoc Patrick Biller, Energy Research Institute, University of Leeds, UK

Jens Christian Skou Fellows

Commencement on 1 February 2017


  • Professor Jessica Wiskus, Department of Musicianship, Duquesne University, USA
  • Postdoc Federica Bertolotti, Department of Science and High Technology, University of Insubria, Italy

Jens Christian Skou Fellows


Morten Kyndrup, AIAS Executive director and Professor, kyndrup@aias.au.dk
Lena Bering, Communications Officer, lber@aias.au.dk

Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, AIAS
Høegh-Guldbergs Gade 6B
DK-8000 Aarhus C Denmark