Aarhus University Seal

AIAS Fellow Micah G. Allen receives British award

Cognitive neuroscientist Micah G. Allen awarded Early Career Prize by The British Association for Cognitive Neuroscience.

The ‘Early Career Prize’ is awarded to young researchers who have contributed their high-standard and pioneering work to the field of cognitive neuroscience. This year, the prize goes to Micah G. Allen, AIAS Fellow and Associate Professor at the Department of Clinical Medicine at Aarhus University and Cambridge University. The aim of the prize is to reward and to recognize distinguished scholarship and research excellence undertaken over a period by a cognitive neuroscientist who is currently active in research, and who has made a substantial contribution to Cognitive Neuroscience in the UK.

The Early Career Prize’ is awarded to Micah G. Allen on 2 September 2019 at the Annual Meeting of the British Association for Cognitive Neuroscience (BACN), where Micah will deliver an ‘Early Career lecture’ on ‘Interoceptive Self-Inference: An Embodied Approach to Computational Psychiatry’.

As a cognitive neuroscientist, Micah G. Allen works at the intersection of brain-body interaction and decision making. His research focuses on understanding how our visceral sensations (or ‘gut feelings’) shape how we see the world, make decisions, and experience emotions. In his research, Micah applies techniques such as neuroimaging and computational modelling to illuminate the influence of gut feelings on brain function.

Micah G. Allen commenced his AIAS Fellowship on 1 February 2019 and at the same time was awarded a Lundbeck Foundation Fellowship of DKK 10 million. These fellowships have enabled Micah G. Allen to launch his own research lab, the Embodied Computation Group (ECG), which is based at both Aarhus University and Cambridge Psychiatry. 

Visit Micah Allen’s lab website:


Follow and engage with Micah and his Lab on Twitter:



Micah Allen, AIAS Fellow, Associate Professor
Phone: +44 07473513511

Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies (AIAS) and
The Department of Clinical Medicine
Aarhus University