Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


Image credit: ESO/L. Calçada



POSTPONED: The conference has been postponed from 11-15 May 2020 to May 2021 (TBC), due to the corona virus. We apologize for any inconvenience it may cause. 

NEW DATE: May 2021 (TBC)

Neutron stars are the compact remnants of massive stars which are left behind when such stars terminate their life in a supernova explosion. The extreme physical conditions in/near neutron stars are impossible to imitate in any laboratory on Earth and make these compact objects ideal for studying the fundamental nature of physics – e.g. neutron stars host the densest matter in the observable universe, possess the strongest electromagnetic fields and are excellent probes of strong-field gravity. Many neutron stars are found in binary systems with a companion star leading to exotic interactions affecting their formation in supernovae, mass transfer and emission of X-rays, the recycling process to millisecond pulsars, and their evolution as gravitational wave sources and mergers. This conference will gather world leading experts for a dedicated and lively meeting on new ideas in neutron star astrophysics.


Registration for this conference is closed by now, but a number of seats are available for locals interested in attending the conference for just one day. Please contact Thomas Tauris (tauris@phys.au.dk) regarding participation for one day.

Final registration

All pre-registered attendees have received a final registration link via email. To receive the link again, please contact Thomas Sejer Canham at thomas@aias.au.dk


Nils Andersson (Uni. Southampton, UK)

John Antoniadis (MPIfR, Bonn, Germany)

Abbas Askar (Lun Uni., Sweden)

Matthew Bailes (Swinburne Uni., Australia)

Jennifer Barnes (Columbia Uni., USA)

Andreas Bauswein (GSI, Darmstadt, Germany)

Chris Belczynski (Copernicus Center, PAN, Poland)

Edo Berger (Harvard Uni., USA)

Katelyn Breivik  (Uni. Toronto, Canada)

Rene Breton (Uni. Manchester, UK) 

Alessandra Buonanno (AEI, Potsdam, Germany)

Sylvain Chaty  (Uni. Paris Diderot, France)

Hailiang Chen (Yunnan Obs., China)    

Jerome Chenevez (DTU Space, Denmark) 

Ross Church (Lund Uni., Sweden) 

Monica Colpi (Uni. Milano-Bicocca, Italy)

Melvyn Davies (Lund Uni., Sweden)

Nathalie Degenaar (Uni. Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Tim Dietrich (NIKHEF, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Maria Drout (Uni. Toronto, Canada)

Wen-fei Fong (Northwestern Uni., USA)

Tassos Fragos (Geneva Observatory, Switzerland)

Paulo Freire (MPIfR, Bonn, Germany)

Chris Fryer (LANL, Los Alamos, USA)

Alexander Heger (Monash Uni., Australia)

Jason Hessels (Uni. Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Kenta Hotokezaka  (Uni. Tokyo, Japan)

Gian Luca Israel (INAF, Rome, Italy)

Thomas Janka (MPA, Garching, Germany)

David Kaplan (Uni. Wisconsin, USA)

Mansi Kasliwal (CalTech, USA)

Victoria Kaspi (McGill Uni., Canada) 

Michael Kramer (MPIfR, Bonn, Germany)

Matthias Kruckow (Yunnan Obs., China)

Norbert Langer (Uni. Bonn, Germany)

Xiang-Dong Li (Nanjing Uni., China)

Tom Maccarone (Texas Tech Uni., USA)

Daniele Malesani  (DTU Space, Denmark) 

Ilya Mandel (Monash Uni., Australia)

Michela Mapelli (INAF, Padova, Italy)

Cole Miller (Uni. Maryland, USA)

Takashi Moriya (NAOJ, Tokyo, Japan)

Bernhard Mueller (Monash Uni., Australia)

Samaya Nissanke (Uni. Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Maria Alessandra Papa (AEI, Hannover, Germany)  

Emilie Parent  (McGill Uni., Canada) 

Chris Pethick (NBI, Uni. Copenhagen, Denmark)  

Tsvi Piran (Hebrew Uni., Jerusalem, Israel)

Philipp Podsiadlowski (Oxford Uni., UK)

Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz  (UC Santa Cruz, USA / NBI, Denmark)

Luciano Rezzolla (Uni. Frankfurt, Germany)  

Alessandro Ridolfi  (INAF, Cagliari, Italy)

Stephan Rosswog (Stockholm Uni., Sweden)

Lijing Shao  (Peking Uni., China)

Luigi Stella (INAF, Rome, Italy)

Maximilian Stritzinger (Aarhus Uni., Denmark)

Irene Tamborra (NBIA, Copenhagen, Denmark)

Thomas Tauris (Aarhus Uni., Denmark)

Edward van den Heuvel (Uni. Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Marten van Kerkwijk (Uni. Toronto, Canada)

Vivek Venkatraman Krishnan (MPIfR, Bonn, Germany) 

Michael Zevin  (Northwestern Uni., USA)

Preliminary program 

Monday: Millisecond Pulsars (and their applications)

Tuesday: Supernovae (progenitors and fate)

Wednesday: X-ray binaries (accretion, recycling and ULXs) 

Thursday: Gravitational wave sources (LIGO and LISA)

Friday: Mergers (kilonovae, r-processes and sGRBs)

Social program

Two visits to the the following excursions sites in Aarhus are planned:

Moesgaard Museum (MOMU): a prehistory and ethnographic museum of international calibre. At MOMU, prehistory is presented innovatively in a breathtaking architectural setting.

The Old Town (Den Gamle By): a national open-air museum of urban history and culture in Denmark and with Living history.

Read more about Aarhus, and what to do in this CNN Article: