Aarhus University Seal

AIAS Associate Event: Joint CQOM & ITAMP Workshop

Date: 13-17 August 2018


The concept of quantum simulation is currently being realised in an increasing range of physical systems with expanding scope and success. Neutral atoms and photons are among the most promising building blocks of quantum simulators, owing to the remarkable degree to which they can nowadays be controlled in the laboratory. This workshop will explore the frontier of these exciting developments. It will thereby provide opportunities to identify current challenges and new directions in the field of quantum simulations by sharing latest results and ideas across different platforms, ranging from photonic settings and polariton systems to cold atom experiments. By bringing together experts on this range of topics, the workshop aims to provide an inspiring venue for discussing common interests and future perspectives for experiments as well as theory of quantum-many body systems in and out of equilibrium.

The workshop is organized jointly by the Center for Quantum Optics and Quantum Matter (CQOM) at Aarhus University and the Institute for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics (ITAMP) at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.


Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies (AIAS), Aarhus University, Buildings 1630-1632, Høegh-Guldbergs Gade 6B, 8000 Aarhus C, Denmark. See location on a map.


  • Jaewook Ahn, KAIST, Korea
  • Dimitris Angelakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece
  • Stefanie Barz, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Antoine Browaeys, Institut d’Optique, France
  • Hrvoje Buljan, University of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Darrick Chang, ICFO, Spain
  • Eugene Demler, Harvard University, USA
  • Tilman Esslinger, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Michael Fleischhauer, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
  • Alexey Gorshkov, Joint Quantum Institute, University of Maryland, USA
  • Rudi Grimm, IQOQI, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • Christian Gross, Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Germany
  • Jan Klaers, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Mikhail Lukin, Harvard University, USA
  • Pietro Massignan, UPC, Spain
  • Florian Mintert, Imperial College London, UK
  • Giovanna Morigi, Saarland University, Germany
  • Robert Nyman, Imperial College London, UK
  • Wolfram Pernice, University of Muenster, Germany
  • Francesco Piazza, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Germany
  • Mikael Rechtsman, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Luis Santos, Leibniz University of Hannover, Germany
  • Richard Schmidt, Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Germany
  • Klaus Sengstock, University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Gora Shlyapnikov, University Paris-Sud, France
  • Anders Sørensen, Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark
  • Joseph Thywissen, University of Toronto
  • Benoit Vermersch, IQOQI Innsbruck, Austria
  • Juergen Volz, TU Vienna, Austria
  • Gregor Weihs, University of Innbruck, Austria
  • Tarik Yefsah, École normale supérieure, France


The scientific programme will consist of a poster session, invited talks and contributed talks, selected from the submitted poster contributions. The workshop will begin at 13:30 on Monday, August 13, and close at 12:00 on Friday, August 17.

See the programme and abstracts here. 

Registration: CLOSED

Registration for PARTICIPANTS

Registration for INVITED SPEAKERS

The deadline for registration was 1 July 2018.

A registration fee of DKK 1,500,- (approx. EUR 200) applies for all participants. The fee includes catering during the conference as well as the social program and conference dinner.  


  • Thomas Pohl (Aarhus University)
  • Jan Arlt (Aarhus University)
  • Georg Bruun (Aarhus University)
  • Alexander Szameit (University of Rostock, DE)
  • Hossein Sadeghpour (ITAMP/Harvard, US)


Danmarks Grundforskningsfond - Danish National Research Foundation