Quantum Simulations with Atoms and Light



Joint CQOM/ITAMP Workshop

Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, Aarhus University August 13 to August 17, 2018

This workshop will explore the frontier of quantum simulation with neutral atoms and photons. It will thereby provide opportunities to identify current challenges and new directions in this rapidly evolving field by sharing latest results and ideas across different platforms, ranging from photonic settings and polariton systems to cold atom experiments. By bringing together experts on this range of topics, the workshop aims to provide an inspiring venue for discussing common interests and future perspectives for experiments as well as theory of quantum-many body systems in and out of equilibrium.

Registration

Applications are welcome and should be completed using the online application form on the workshop website, www.aias.au.dk/events/qusal, before June 15th 2018. The number of attendees is limited. Participants are encouraged to contribute a poster presentation, and poster abstracts should be submitted to cgom@phys.au.dk. The registration fee for the workshop is 1500DKK.

Venue

The workshop will be hosted by the Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies (AIAS), located at Aarhus University. Further information on the venue can be found at www.aias.au.dk.

Contact

For further information, please contact Grete Flarup IFA, Aarhus University cqom@phys.au.dk

www.aias.au.dk/events/qusal

Scientific Coordinators

Thomas Pohl (Aarhus University, DK) Jan Arlt (Aarhus University, DK) Georg Bruun (Aarhus University, DK) Alexander Szameit (University of Rostock, DE)



Invited speakers

Jaewook Ahn (KAIST, KR) Dimitris Angelakis (TUC, GR) Stefanie Barz (University of Stuttgart, DE) Antoine Browaeys (Institut d'Optique, FR) Hrvoje Buljan (University of Zagreb, HR) Darrick Chang (ICFO, ES) Eugene Demler (Harvard University, US) Tilman Esslinger (ETH Zurich, CH) Michael Fleischhauer (Uni. Kaiserslautern, DE) Alexey Gorshkov (JQI, USA) Rudolf Grimm (IQOQI, AT) Christian Gross (MPQ, DE) Jan Klaers (University of Twente, NL) Benjamin Lev (Stanford University, US) Mikhail Lukin (Harvard University, US) Pietro Massignan (UPC, ES) Florian Mintert, (Imperial College London, UK)

Robert Nyman, (Imperial College London, UK) Wolfram Pernice (University of Muenster, DE) Francesco Piazza (MPIPKS, DE)

Mikael Rechtsman (Penn. State, US)

Luis Santos (Leibniz Uni. Hannover, DE)

Richard Schmidt (MPQ, DE)

Klaus Sengstock (University of Hamburg, DE) Gora Shlyapnikov (Paris-Sud University, FR)

Anders Sørensen (NBI, DK)

Joseph Thywissen (University of Toronto, CA)

Benoit Vermersch (IQOQI, AT)

Juergen Volz (TU Vienna, AT)

Gregor Weihs (University of Innsbruck, AT)

Tarik Yefsah (ENS, FR)



